Tuesday, June 5, 2007

Nasharuddin retains PAS No. 2 post



Nasharuddin Mat Isa has retained the PAS deputy president’s post defeating former Dewan Ulama head Datuk Harun Taib at the party’s muktamar (convention) in Pengkalan Chepa today.

Nasharuddin received 574 votes to Harun’s 367 votes, said election committee deputy chairman Wan Mutalib Embong.
The win by Nasharuddin is seen as a stamp of approval from 1,125 delegates who wanted him to continue helping PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang with the party’s reformation agenda.
Two-vice presidents who retained their posts were Kelantan Public Administration, Economic Planning, Finance and Community Development Committee Chairman Datuk Husam Musa and Mohamad Sabu.
Husam received 831 votes while Mohamad received 666 votes.
The other post of vice-president vacated by Selangor PAS commissioner Datuk Dr Hasan Ali was won by PAS information chief Ahmad Awang, the former Ulama Association of Malaysia president.
Ahmad received 427 votes while the votes of two other candidates, central committee member Mahfuz Omar and Johor PAS commissioner Datuk Dr Mahfodz Mohamad were not announced.
Also announced were the names of 18 members of the PAS central committee comprising six new faces and 12 incumbents.
Pahang PAS commissioner Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man received 821 votes, the highest among all the candidates. The new faces were three Kelantan Executive Councillors Datuk Anuar Tan Abdullah, Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan and Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah, legal committee chairman Hanifa Maidin, former youth vice head Mazlan Aliman and research centre director Dr Zulkifli Ahmad.
The incumbents re-elected are Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, Dr Syed Azman Syed Ahmad Nawawi, Taib Azamuddin, Dr Lo’Lo’ Mohd Ghazali, Abdul Ghani Abdul Rahman, Mujahid Yusof Rawa, Azizan Abdul Razak, Idris Ahmad, Datuk Abu Bakar Chik, Ir Amiruddin Hamzah, Datuk Abdul Halim Abdul Rahman and Abdul Ghani Samsuddin.

No comments: